The Walter Brandish Cup

Walter Brandish was well known in Coventry and particularly in Foleshill where he was born in 1877 [1]. He declared himself 'a proud Foleshill man' [2] and it was there he chose to start his motorcycle business in 1908, on the corner of Foleshill Road and Queen Mary's Road.

By 1923 a second shop had been opened in the Colosseum Building on the corner of WhiterFriars Road and Jordan Well [3]. The precise location is unknown but likely to have been on the Jordan Well wing that was destroyed in The Blitz and subsequently rebuilt. The shops were run by his sons - Walter Jnr (1901) and Dennis - who both had considerable success in motorcycle racing.

He was a keen sportsman, competing in cycling on behalf of Earl Shilton [4]. He became a Coventry Councillor representing his beloved Foleshill and was also the Chairman of Coventry City FC [5], guiding them to considerable success.

He donated many Cups to all manner of sports competitions in his name to encourage strong competition. The 'Brandish' Cup that is played for by Crown Green teams in Coventry and District originated as the trophy for the champions of the Foleshill & District Bowling League. Walter again donated the cup and gold medals each year for the members of the winning team.

He was the President of the League from it's creation in 1925 [6] until his death on the 25th October 1935 [1]. The league disbanded shortly after hearing the untimely news.

Shortly before his death, Walter entrusted the Cup to Mr A.V. Wright, the erstwhile Secretary of the League. Determined to keep Walter's legacy alive - to promote good sport and help the people of Foleshill - he put forward the idea for a knockout competition.

In March 1937, with the blessing of the family, 'The Walter Brandish Cup' was run for the first time, raising money to aid local charities [7].

"The President. Mr. F. Stringer, who was in the chair, said that the competition was formed for the first time this year, and was open to any team in Coventry. Formerly the cup was presented by the late Councillor Walter Brandish to the Foleshill and District Bowling League, of which he was the President. The League was disbanded shortly after his death, and it was decided to form a knock-out competition and utilise the cup for charity. In its first season this had been very successful... The competition had been won by Alfred Herberts' Bowling Club, in competition with 31 teams from works, licensed houses and clubs."

Coventry Evening Telegraph, 27th Nov 1937

References

- ¹ Walter William Brandish 1877-1935 Ancestry®
- ² Coventry Evening Telegraph, 18th November 1933
- ³ Coventry Herald, 27th March 1925
- ⁴ Kenilworth Advertiser. 02th September 1899
- ⁵ Nottingham Evening Post, 25th October 1935
- ⁶ Coventry Herald, 8th May 1925
- ⁷ Coventry Evening Telegraph, 18th March 1937

As the Foleshill & District League

1925	Vauxhall WMC
1920	Vauxiiaii VVIVIC
1926	Vauxhall WMC
1927	Vauxhall WMC
1928	Heath Hotel
1929	Woodlands WMC
1930	?

1931	Vauxhall WMC
1932	Trades Hall
1933	Heath Hotel
1934	?
1935	?

As the Walter Brandish Knockout Cup

1937 Alfred Herberts 1938 Vauxhall WMC 1939 Alfred Herberts A 1940 Alfred Herberts A 1941 Not run 1942 Courtaulds 1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A 1952 Royal Oak		
1939 Alfred Herberts A 1940 Alfred Herberts A 1941 Not run 1942 Courtaulds 1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A	1937	Alfred Herberts
1940 Alfred Herberts A 1941 Not run 1942 Courtaulds 1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1938	Vauxhall WMC
1941 Not run 1942 Courtaulds 1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1939	Alfred Herberts A
1942 Courtaulds 1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1940	Alfred Herberts A
1943 Courtaulds 1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1941	Not run
1944 Walsgrave 1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1942	Courtaulds
1945 Morris Motors 1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1943	Courtaulds
1946 GEC 1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1944	Walsgrave
1947 Alfred Herberts A 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1945	Morris Motors
 1948 Morris Motors A 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A 	1946	GEC
 1949 Morris Motors A 1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A 	1947	Alfred Herberts A
1950 Morris Motors A 1951 Morris Motors A	1948	Morris Motors A
1951 Morris Motors A	1949	Morris Motors A
	1950	Morris Motors A
1952 Royal Oak	1951	Morris Motors A
	1952	Royal Oak

1953 onwards to follow