STAFFORD VETERANS BOWLING LEAGUE



Minutes of the AGM Held at 2pm Wednesday 12th February 2025 at Stafford Rangers Football Club in the Stan Robinson Suite

Present:

John Kerwin (Chair), John Dunning (Vice Chair), Derek Tudor (Secretary) Carol Westwood (Competitions Secretary) and 49 members.

Apologies and Welcome

John Kerwin welcomed everyone to the meeting and asked for a minutes silence as a mark of respect for colleagues we had lost since the last AGM. Apologies were received from John Andrews, Phil & Helen Hood, John Cooper. Prior to the meeting the Competitions Secretary Presented the trophies and awards to the following.

FIRST DIVISION:

Champions: Victoria Park B; Runners Up: Amasal

Singles Averages: Stan Hugill (Victoria Park B), Runner Up: John Middleton

(Fieldhouse A)

Doubles Averages: Nicholas Phillips (Burton Manor)

Runner Up: Rona Jenkinson (Victoria Park B)

SECOND DIVISION:

Champions: Hatherton J; Runners Up: Silkmore C

Singles Averages: Mike Thomson (Silkmore B); Runner Up: Dave Burrows

(Phoenix Uni)

Doubles Averages: Nigel Phillips (Victoria Park A)

Runner Up: Robin Yates (Victoria Park A)

COMPETITIONS:

Borough Shield: John Cussons beat Barry Roden

Triples Drawn Partner: John Cussons/Helen Hood/John Smith beat

Terry Dyke/John Hartley/Brian Hickman

Individual Merit: Keith Davies beat John Cussons

Doubles Drawn Partner: David Bayliss & Brian Hickman beat Barry Roden & Jan

Ivens

Doubles Own Partner: Stan Hugill & James Stuart beat Rob Harbridge & Mary

_ogan

Triples Own Partner: Brian Hickman/Sid Kelly/Tony Doran beat Pam Ewan/Dave

Wilkinson/Adrian Darrant

Minutes of 2024 AGM

The minutes of the 2024 meeting were approved.

Matters Arising

There were no matters arising to bring to the attention of the meeting.

Correspondence

Derek Tudor had three things to bring to the attention of the meeting.

- 1. Advised all members to familiarise themselves of the recent BCGBA rule changes that came into effect as of January 18th 2025. Copy of which is available on the website.
- 2. Staffs County Bowling Association AGM to be held at Essington Monday 17th March. All Clubs and Leagues are required to be represented.
- 3. Stan Robinson Pallet network have kindly agreed to sponsor the league again this season which is very much appreciated.

Chairman's Annual Report

John Kerwin was pleased to report that the 2024 season had been a successful one and hoped that everyone had enjoyed taking part.

Treasurer's Annual Financial report

Derek Tudor summarised the Financial Report stating although there had been a small loss of £44 over the year 2024, this was maybe attributable to 51 fewer entries into the competitions than the previous year and suggested could Captains please try and encourage their member to enter to cover the cost of the competitions.

The overall loss was minimised as Phil Hood had transferred money to a deposit account which brought in £52 interest.

The fund is still in a healthy condition and it is therefore recommended to keep subscriptions the same for 2025 at £25 for each team and £1 per person for each competition entry.

Competitions Report

Carol Westwood reported that last season was her first in post and thanked everybody that assisted with the running of the competitions, and hoped everyone had enjoyed them.

Carol then went on to say she was working on producing a listing of competitions with dates & venues etc for the Secretary to display on the website.

At the moment she is waiting on confirmation from Penkridge and Stafford Bowling Clubs for their commitment to hosting next seasons competitions.

Anybody that was presented with a trophy today and did not wish to take them home Carol was willing to take back for safe keeping.

Secretary's Annual Report

Derek Tudor was pleased to report that the 2024 season had gone without any hitches, no rules were broken and all matches were completed.

He congratulated everyone that had won a trophy, got promoted and offered his commiserations to those that had suffered relegation, but most of all hoped that everyone had enjoyed themselves and we could all soon look forward to stating again.

Changes to the Constitution

There were no planned changes to the present constitution.

Elections of Officers and Account checkers

The following officers were duly elected

Chair: John Kerwin

Vice Chair: John Dunning Secretary: Derek Tudor Treasurer: Phil Hood

Competitions Secretary: Carol Westwood

It was also agreed that Neville and Sylvia Ward be reappointed as Account Checkers.

2025 League Divisional structure and arrangements.

The Structure for the 2025 season would remain the same 13 teams in division 1 and 14 teams in division 2 with the usual relegation and promotion between the divisions. There were no Team Name or Club Name changes to report but please be aware that **Stafford B** will be playing their home games at **Fieldhouse Bowling Club** on green No 2 for the 2025 season.

The Fixtures will go live in the next couple of days and the season will start on Wednesday 2nd April and run through to Wednesday 24th September. Division 1 teams will have 2 byes and Division 2 teams will go straight through. The website is open for all captains to make any adjustments to their team rotas till the end of march and would encourage all captains to do so to avoid playing any unregistered players. The Captains paperwork will be available for collection from **Fieldhouse Bowling club** on **Friday 7th March at 10.30am.** The pack will contain Fixture List, match & score cards, Refreshment list, competition forms, copy of rule changes and Captains Contact list.

Derek Tudor then finally wished everybody good luck and good bowling for the season but most of all enjoy to yourselves and have fun.

Any Other Business

Paul Kelly addressed the meeting with proposals for a brand new doubles league he is hoping to start up for the 2026 season. The teams would consist of 8 players (4 doubles) the start time would be 11am on a Tuesday morning. He would be looking for 10 teams to make up the league and then handed out fliers listing details.

John Kerwin thanked everybody for their attendance and the Meeting was closed at 14:35